July 6, 2014

Sebago Lake Rotary B Club gives top honors to three

This year the Sebago Lake Rotary Club is presenting three people the Paul Harris Fellow award, the highest award in Rotary.

Nathan White was awarded the Sebago Lake Rotary Club’s Paul Harris Fellow award for his help with the Sebago Lake Fishing Derby. White works for the Town of Raymond as the public works director. 

“Nathan always provides exemplary service to the town. He’s on response for everything 24/7,” said town manager Don Willard. “It’s not surprising he made himself available to the Rotary. He would do everything he can to support the derby.” 

“We felt he is there during the derby on his own time. He’s just wonderful,” said Deb McPhail, the newly elected president of the Sebago Lake Rotary Club. White has been volunteering since the beginning of the derby 14 years ago, she added.

White was awarded the Carlton Edwards employee recognition award in 2013 for the Town of Raymond. He was the first person to receive that award. The second was award to Louise Lester, the retired town clerk. 

White was recognized for providing service “beyond his job description,” said Willard. 

Cyndy Bell, secretary of the club, was the second one to be awarded the fellow. “Cyndy goes well beyond her duties as secretary. She’s there for everything,” said McPhail. Bell will be involved in the Feet for Food campaign later in the year. 

The third recipient has not been announced. 

The award is voted on by the Paul Harris committee. A donation will be made to The Rotary Foundation in honor of the award winners. They receive a certificate and a Paul Harris Fellow pin. Paul Harris is regarded as the founder of Rotary in 1905.

No comments:

Post a Comment