December 26, 2014

Volunteers recognized at Gray's annual banquet - By Tracy Scheckel

The Town of Gray held its annual volunteer recognition event at Spring Meadows on Tuesday. Based on nominations from town staff, citizens and volunteer committee members, the Council selected recipients in five categories. Committee and Volunteer of the Year are awarded to a town appointed committee that provided exemplary community service through its activities throughout the year, and to a person who during the last year has gone above and beyond to improve the community through volunteerism.

An award for Organization of the Year recognizes an organization serving the citizens of Gray that has made a substantial positive impact in the community in the last year. A Lifetime Achievement is awarded to, quite simply, a citizen who has displayed a lifetime of volunteer service to Gray. 

Evelyn Durgin was an unsolicited, tireless volunteer toward the care and upkeep of the Civil War Monument. The award that bears her name honors a volunteer who exemplifies the essence of Evelyn’s humility, dedication to and love for Gray. 

Shad Hall was selected Volunteer of the Year for his tireless efforts on the MSAD15 School Board, his dedication to youth sports – particularly football, and his generosity. The Committee of the Year was the Library Expansion Committee for its oversight of the library project. The Little Sebago Lake Association was named Organization of the Year for is continued efforts to preserve the health of Little Sebago Lake. The organization has been fighting a war against milfoil for more than a decade with countless volunteer hours. Last but not least, the Evelyn Morrill Durgin Award was presented to Jason Wilson for his never ending dedication to Gray on many levels – both as a business owner and tireless volunteer.

Each Recipient received a commemorative certificate and will have their name engraved on a plaque at the Gray Town Hall.

No comments:

Post a Comment